Domhnall Gleeson is an Irish actor who has experienced a surge in his career in recent years. He first became known to a wider audience when he took on the role of Bill Weasley in the Harry Potter franchise. 2015 was his big year when he received award worthy praise for his work in Ex Machina, Brooklyn, The Revenant, and as General Hux in Star Wars: The Force Awakens. Gwendoline Christie’s career started off primarily in theatre before transitioning to films. However, since 2011 she has become most known for her portrayal of Brienne of Tarth on HBO’s Game of Thrones and in 2015 for her role as Captain Phasma in Star Wars: The Force Awakens.

Andy Serkis is an actor and director whose name has become synonymous with motion capture performance. His most well known roles due to his motion capture performances are Gollum from the Lord of the Rings trilogy, King Kong from the 2005 King Kong remake, and Caesar from the Planet of the Apes reboot series. His casting as Supreme Leader Snoke in Star Wars: The Force Awakens left everyone wondering. Perhaps the next film will answer more questions surrounding the mysterious Snoke. Domhnall Gleeson, Gwendoline Christie, and Andy Serkis will be reprising their roles of General Hux, Captain Phasma, and Snoke respectfully in the upcoming Star Wars: The Last Jedi, which will open in theaters on December 15, 2017.

Screen Rant got a chance to talk to Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, and Gwendoline Christie on Press Day, where we discussed what fan theories they’ve read about their respective Star Wars characters, how General Hux’s relationship has developed with Kylo Ren since The Force Awakens, and how difficult it was to construct the character of Snoke in pure secrecy.

SR: Quick question is has there ever been any fan theory that you’ve read that was right about your character?

SR: Really?

Andy Serkis: Yeah.

SR: Reborn.

Andy Serkis: Yeah. There’s been a fan theory going around the Snoke is a descendant of Salacious Crum. That is that sort of, that character but reborn.

SR: What about you guys?

Andy Serkis: Yeah, yeah, yeah.

Domhnall Gleeson: That was correct.

Andy Serkis: Well, that’s the way I see it.

Gwendoline Christie: This is quite a recent thing because I have not even known such things as fan theories until it was brought to my attention.

SR: Interesting.

Gwendoline Christie: Yeah. It was like literally two days ago. two days ago that there’s all sorts of theories and theories about my character. No, I only read about one, which is this is where I completely embarrass myself because I can’t remember the details of the story, but that Captain… it’s not right though, so it’s a totally relevant way to stop talking now.

SR: Speaking of General Hux, what’s his relationship going into The Last Jedi with Kylo Ren?

Domhnall Gleeson: (Laughs) That was… he said interesting in a way which was interesting. (Laughs) and yeah. Yeah, I don’t know, I don’t know any fan theories about Hux. I don’t know. I’m sorry. I’m not a good… I’m going to stop talking now.

SR: Your character, first in the last movie looked so, so cool but I think a lot of fans were like oh, you know, it’s like the Boba Fett thing, right? That so curious in this film when you read the script you like yes finally my redemption? Because I know you get a big fight scene with Finn, right?

Domhnall Gleeson: They’ve always seemed to be adversarial, you know? I think Hux wants to be at the top and he wants to get the crown from Snooke and he knows that Kylo Ren’s probably in a better position to get that. So I think this fear and hatred, I think he’s a bit freaked out by all the magic stuff.  I think that’s where he’s out with him you, know now?

SR: I’m looking forward to that.

Gwendoline Christie: This is when I get to give the answer that my friends here had thirteen thousand times already today. I can’t answer your question the way that you want me to. But, I do have an incredible singing role in this film I have found creatively satisfied.

SR: Andy, a question for you is in constructing a character like Snoke, he’s super secretive. How difficult is that and how much are you involved with the process of creating a character?

Gwendoline Christine: Thank you.

Domhnall Gleeson: Months of rehearsals.

SR: So, all of you guys as actors, where would you like to see your character go in the next Episode?

Andy Serkis: Well, I mean, you know, going back to J.J. and when I first come aboard to play the part we evolve, you know, we evolve the character together and then Rian took it. And when I sat down with Rian he was, you know, he had a particular angle in the way that we wanted to evolve him. So, you know, physically and and kind of, just in the way that he… The background psychology of the role in all of that. But we wanted him to be manipulative but also there is a kind of wounded, vulnerability about him, which invites the audience in a chink, you know? But he is really all about power so, I mean, that’s the thing.

Everyone: (Laughs).

Domhnall Gleeson:  That’s a trick question. I’m calling you out right now! That’s a trick question to find out if we’re in the next Episode. I’m calling you on it and I’m not going to sink to your level on this one.

MORE: Our Last Jedi Interview With Oscar Isaac & Laura Dern

Domhnall Gleeson: That’s agressive and I’m sorry everybody.

Gwendoline Christie: Thank you, actually.

Andy Serkis:  I would really to see Snoke, you know, kind of really turn to the good side, and go with the Resistance, and actually. Just sort to be this big one sort of party where everyone respected each other and loved each other.

Domhnall Gleeson: Amazing.

Gwendoline Christie: And the film changed its name to stop peace.

Andy Serkis: Yeah, yeah.

Domhnall Gleeson: Everything turns into a romantic comedy.

  • Star Wars 8 Release Date: 2017-12-15 Star Wars Episode IX: The Rise of Skywalker Release Date: 2019-12-20 Han Solo Release Date: 2018-05-25