A Quiet Place stars and real-life couple John Krasinski and Emily Blunt are glad they weren’t cast as Captain America and Black Widow in the MCU. The Marvel Cinematic Universe movies could have been very different, had Tom Cruise played Iron Man or Jason Momoa been cast as Drax - two things that came close to actually happening. Even after some actors signed on for the MCU, they were eventually replaced with different performers (see War Machine and The Hulk for the most noteworthy examples).

Krasinski and Blunt are similarly among the actors that were in the running to play MCU superheroes at one point. Chris Evans and Scarlett Johansson wound up playing Captain American and Black Widow in the end, but there was a time when Krasinki auditioned for Steve Rogers and Blunt for Natasha Romanoff. Ultimately, they didn’t get the roles and went on to pursue other projects. But do the pair ever regret what could have been?

Yahoo! Movies spoke with Krasinski and Blunt about their first film together, A Quiet Place, which is currently receiving rave reviews for being a new twist on the horror genre. But when asked if they ever wish that they had become part of the MCU family, they made it clear how the feel:

Emily Blunt: “I don’t think I would have been able to do a lot of projects that I’ve loved doing. I think that was a nerve-wracking prospect for me to not be able to choose, and the choices I have are often all I have, so you can’t really plan for anything else. You can’t predict what’s going to happen, what’s going to catch fire and what’s not, so if I make the choice for me, and not because I’m contracted I think that’s an exciting prospect.”

John Krasinski: “That’s really interesting. I think A Quiet Place definitely wouldn’t exist. There are benefits, and Chris Evans seems to be having a wonderful time. I love Chris, I’ve been a friend of his for a while. Those movies are so much fun and I love watching them, I tell him I’m first in line to see his new movies. It’s that zen thing of let life take you where it may and I never would have been here if I had gotten Captain America. I never thought about that, you just broke my brain.”

While MCU actors are certainly able to do non-MCU films (Johannson especially has kept busy these past several years), it’s true that their time is limited. Krasinski and Blunt haven’t made a ton of movies, but they’ve both been able to pursue various projects - with the former branching out into directing and writing - and focus more on their relationship, over that same time. Of course, there’s nothing to prevent them from joining the MCU in the future, either.

For years, rumors abounded that Blunt was in talks to play Captain Marvel. For her part, Blunt denies Marvel contacted her about the role. Still, her prowess in films like Edge of Tomorrow show she’s more than ready to be a superhero. Unfortunately, she doesn’t seem all that interested in joining the MCU, at this stage.

As for Krasinski, he recently said he’s game to play Reed Richards in the MCU’s Fantastic Four reboot down the line. For now, however, that’s a ways off still from happening; enough so that it’s difficult to say whether or not Krasinski will still be interested by the time the project actually happens. In the meantime, original projects like A Quiet Place might be more Krasinski and Blunt’s speed.

MORE: John Krasinski Is The MCU’s Mister Fantastic In Fan Art

Source: Yahoo! Movies

  • A Quiet Place Release Date: 2018-04-06